Baroque Suites

Concert image


Handel Water Music Suite in F major
Bach Third Orchestral Suite
Vivaldi Recorder Concerto in C major
Telemann Suite in A minor for Recorder and Strings

Cambridge University Collegium Musicum
Margaret Faultless
Sophie Westbrooke recorder (CUMS Concerto Competition 2019 prize-winner)

Tickets: £25, £20, £10
Students and under-18s: £21, £16, £6

Tickets available here

Senate House, despite all its grandeur, only opens its doors for the University of Cambridge’s graduation ceremonies. However, you can be amongst the exclusive few who have entered this historic building and enjoy an evening of some the finest Baroque performance Cambridge has to offer; under the direction of Margaret Faultless, an internationally renowned specialist in historical performance practice, Director of Performance at the University of Cambridge, Head of the Royal Academy of Music’s Historical Performance Department, and leader of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

Margaret Faultless writes: 1685 was a remarkable year – the birth of both Bach and Handel. Along with Telemann they form a triumvirate of German Baroque ‘Greats’. This concert celebrates their abilities to amalgamate French and Italian styles with dance music in three contrasting suites. The Bach suite includes the famous Air on the G String – which isn’t, by the way, really playable on the G string at all! All three composers were inspired by Vivaldi’s invention of a particular form of the concerto and the concert will feature one such piece, typically virtuosic, and performed by CUMS concerto winner and 2014 BBC Young Musician of the Year finalist, Sophie Westbrooke.