On the Town

Concert image

Bernstein Three Dance Episodes from On the Town
Gershwin Piano Concerto in F
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

Cambridge University Orchestra
Jamie Phillips
Louis Schwizgebel piano

Tickets: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5

Available here

Cambridge University Musical Society is delighted to welcome back Jamie Phillips, previously associate conductor with the Hallé, to conduct an (almost) all-American extravaganza.

Bartòk’s most popular work, his effervescent Concerto for Orchestra – so-called due to its virtuosic treatment of every section of the orchestra – rejuvenated the health of its composer upon its commission by Serge Koussevitsky and the Boston Symphony Orchestra and is a perfect showpiece for the youthful talent of both conductor and orchestra.

Complementing this masterwork are two composers who, like Bartòk, achieved that rarest of feats: successful cross-genre pollination. Bernstein’s Three Dance Episodes from On the Town capture the joi de vivre and youthful exuberance of young sailors on shore-leave in New York and that of its young composer, recently catapulted to star-dom. Once called the New York Concerto, Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F, with its intoxicating mix of classical, jazz, blues and even Charleston, is the epitome of the cultural dynamism that defined the New York of the Roaring Twenties.