Brahms Symphony No.2

© Tom Porteous

Brahms Symphony No.2

Friday 30 November 2018, 8.00pm

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.3
Brahms Symphony No.2

Cambridge University Sinfonia
Stephanie Childress conductor
Andreas Wildner piano (CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner)

Tickets: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5
Available here

For our final concert of Michaelmas term, the Cambridge University Sinfonia are joined by two extremely talented student musicians, conducting scholar Stephanie Childress and CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner pianist Andreas Wildner. Prokofiev’s best-known piano concerto and Brahms’ beloved second symphony make for masterful contrast and combination in this stirring concert by the Sinfonia.

The piano concerto joins Prokofiev’s characteristic sophistication and bravura with his typical humour and sarcasm, interspersed with moments of lush introspection, while the symphony reveals a gentle and cheerful Brahms, moving through vast and serene expanses. Brahms’ traditional impulses towards brooding Beethovenian energy are carefully balanced in this symphony with warm comfort and effervescent triumph. These two composers are masters of instrumental colour, and their approaches to variation and comedy deeply different yet complimentary.