Living Notes: Opus Ones

Living Notes: Opus Ones

Saturday 23 February 2019, 7.30pm

Richard Causton Notturno
Julian Anderson The Bearded Lady
Julian Anderson Van Gogh Blue
Joy Lisney The Summoner
Britten Sinfonietta op.1

University of Cambridge New Music Ensemble
Naomi Woo conductor

Opus Ones – introduced by Donald Macleod
Composer of the Week presenter, BBC Radio 3

Tickets: £15
Students and under-18s: £5
Available here

Hosted by Radio 3’s Donald Macleod, Opus Ones focusses on the lightbulb moment in a composer’s early development when she or he arrives on the scene with that crucial first piece, or opus 1. This evening of music and conversation features works by Julian Anderson (‘amongst the most talented composers of his generation’), Richard Causton (‘one of the most courageous and uncompromising artists we have’) and Joy Lisney, a cellist and composer at the beginning of her career whose music is refined and exquisitely crafted. The programme is completed by Benjamin Britten’s Sinfonietta op.1, composed when he was just 18 years old.

Living Notes is a new concert series at Stapleford Granary in which audience, composers and performers meet for an evening of thought-provoking and imaginative dialogue in words and music. For further information please visit