Season Launch Concert

© Benjamin Ealovega

Season Launch Concert

In celebration of Robin Holloway’s 75th birthday

Saturday 20 October 2018, 8.00pm

Mozart Concerto for Two Pianos K.365
Schumann arr. Robin Holloway Six Canonic Studies op.56
Schumann Symphony No.3 ‘Rhenish’

Cambridge University Orchestra
Ryan Wigglesworth conductor/piano
Charles Owen piano

Tickets: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5
Available here

Join us for our Season Launch! The Cambridge University Orchestra is honoured to celebrate Robin Holloway’s distinguished compositional career on the occasion of his 75th birthday. The Orchestra is conducted by Ryan Wigglesworth, piano, who is joined by pianist Charles Owen for Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos.

Wigglesworth is not only active as a concert pianist, he has also been Principal Guest Conductor of the Hallé Orchestra since September 2015 and is currently Composer in Residence at ENO. His upcoming conducting engagements include concerts with the London Philharmonic, Philharmonia, CBSO, RLPO, BBC Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Owen is described by Gramophone magazine as “one of the finest British pianists of his generation”, and he regularly gives recitals at the Wigmore Hall and Kings Place and internationally. He is also a professor of piano at the Guildhall School in London.

In this concert, the Cambridge University Orchestra weaves its way from classic to classic by way of Holloway’s astute reinterpretation of Schumann’s studies for the unusual pedal-piano. We end the evening with Schumann’s great, final symphony, known as the “Rhenish”. From its dance-like melodies to its enchanting contrapuntal chorale to its heroic conclusion, the symphony is a masterful close to the evening from one of Holloway’s favourite composers.