Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1

© Guy Wigmore

Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1

Saturday 27 October 2018, 8.00pm

Galina Ustvolskaya Poem No.1
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1
Prokofiev Cinderella Suites (excerpts)

Cambridge University Sinfonia
Holly Mathieson conductor
James Jones violin (CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner)

Tickets: £20, £14, £10
Concessions: £18, £12, £8
Students and under-18s: £5
Available here

Cambridge University Sinfonia’s season opens with a bang, with a concert full of Russian music that’s dramatic in more ways than one. Ustvolskaya’s extreme dynamics and brass-heavy orchestration led her to be known as “the woman with the hammer” – we think you will agree!

We are excited to be joined by conductor Holly Mathieson, who brings to the stage CUMS Concerto Competition 2018 prize-winner James Jones (violin) in Shostakovich’s sublime Violin Concerto No.1. Mathieson is currently Assistant Conductor at the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Resident Conductor of the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland Junior Orchestra and Artistic Director of Rata Music Collective as well as Co-Artistic Director of the Nevis Ensemble. Her passion and clarity are a natural fit for this concert.

Shostakovich’s “Shakespearean” violin, who references Elgar, Beethoven, Stravinsky, and Shostakovich’s own DSCH during the course of the concerto, is followed by excerpts from the jubilant and comic ballet Cinderella by Prokofiev, including Cinderella’s beautiful fairy tale waltz.