Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto

Concert image

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Sibelius Symphony No.1

Cambridge University Sinfonia
Tess Jackson conductor
Leo Appel violin (CUMS Concerto Competition 2019 prize-winner)

Tickets: £15, £10, £8
Concessions: £13, £8, £6
Students and under-18s: £3

Available here

“For a while it proceeds soberly, musically, and not mindlessly, but soon vulgarity gains the upper hand and dominates until the end of the first movement. The violin is no longer played: it is tugged about, torn, beaten black and blue.” so wrote critic Eduard Hanslick in a review of the premiere of what is now one of the most popular and memorable of all violin concerti. Sure to caress his violin through the demanding but thrilling passages is CUMS Concerto Competition 2019 prize-winner Leo Appel under the masterful direction of CUMS Conducting Scholar 2019-20 Tess Jackson.

Complementing Tchaikovsky is a symphony of equal nationalistic fervour. Written in the same year as his Finlandia, Sibelius’ Symphony No.1 might be the most traditional of his symphonies, but it is certainly one of the most thrilling.